Current Ph.D Students

Graduated Ph.D Students

Postdoctoral Fellows

Visiting Scholars


Current Ph.D Students



Graduated Ph.D Students


1. Joseph M. Hanratty

Performance Analysis of Hybrid ARQ Protocols in a Slotted  Code Division Multiple-Access Network (1989)

United States Army, Colonel, OSJTF, retired

2. Ihn-Kiel Chang

Antijam Spread Spectrum Communications over Multipath Fading Channels (1989)

Republic of Korea Navy, Captain, Director of Support Division, Military Communications Command, Korea, retired

3. Wern-Ho Sheen

Performance Analysis of Sequence Estimation Techniques for
Intersymbol Interference Channels (1991)

National Chung-Cheng University, Taiwan, Professor

4. Chamroeun Kchao

Direct Sequence Spread Spectrum Cellular Radio (1991)

TRW, Senior Member of Technical Staff

5. Ramzi Barghouthi

Sequence Acquisition for Direct-Sequence Code-Division Multiple-Access Communication Systems (1994)

Cingular Wireless, Senior Systems Engineer

6. Khalid Hamied

Advanced Radio Link Design and Radio Receiver Design for Mobile Communications (1994)

Optimi, Chief Technology Officer

7. Alicia Jones (Ettie Katz)

Trellis Codes for Multipath Fading ISI Channels with Sequential
Sequence Detection (1994)

Eureka Clinical Computing, Founder.

8. Mark Austin

Hand-off Algorithms and Co-channel Interference Analysis for Microcellular Systems (1994)

AT&T Wireless

9. Lihbor Yiin

Sequence Estimation Receivers for Trellis-Coded Continuous Phase Modulation on Mobile Channels (1996)

Lucent Technologies, Member of Technical Staff Standards.

10. Ming-Ju Ho

System Deployment and Capacity Enhancing Techniques for Mobile Radio (1996)

Lucent Technologies, Member of Technical Staff

11. Li-Chun Wang

Channel Modeling and Architecture for Cellular-Based Personal Communications (1996)

National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan, Professor, Dept. Chair

12. Krishna Narayanan

Turbo Decoding for Packet Data Systems (1998)

Texas A&M University, Professor

13. James Caffery

Wireless Location in CDMA Cellular Systems (1998)

University of Cincinnati, Assistant Professor

14. Dukhyun Kim

Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing  for Digital Broadcasting (1998)

Samsung Electro-Mechanics America, Inc.,
Senior Engineer

15. Jinsoup Joung

Cochannel Interference Canceling Receivers for TDMA Systems (2000), Chief Technical Officer, InnoWireless Co., Ltd., Korea
16. John Y. Kim

Resource Management Techniques for CDMA Cellular Systems (2001), Sprint, Principal Member of Technical Staff
17. Jun Tan Iterative Decoding and Multicarrier Modulation for Wireless Communication (2003), Motorola, Inc.
18. Wajih Abu-Al-Saud Efficient Wideband Digital Front-end Transcievers for Software Radio Systems (2004) King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals, Assistant Professor
19. Hasung Kim Turbo-Like Coding for Spread Spectrum Communications (2004) LG Electronics, Seoul, Korea,
20. Apurva Mody Signal Acquisition and Tracking for Fixed Wireless Access Multiple Input Multiple Output Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (2004) BAE Systems,


21. Kihong Kim Interference Mitigation for Wireless Communications (2005) Samsung, Seoul, Korea,
22. Qing Zhao Advanced Synchronization Techniques for Continuous Phase Modulation (2006) Cisco, San Jose, CA, Technical Leader,
23. Chirag Patel Wireless Channel Modeling, Simulation, and Estimation (2006) Qualcomm, Inc, San Diego, CA, Senior Engineer,
24. Joon Beom Kim Iterative Channel Estimation for Wireless Communications (2006) Nortel Networks, richardson, TX, System Designer,
25. Heewon Kang Adaptive Antennas in a Mobile-to-Mobile Environment (2006) Samsung, Suwon, Korea, Senior Engineer,
26. Galib Asadullah M.M. Multi-carrier Spread Spectrum Anti-jam Communications (2008) Qualcomm, Inc., San Deigo, CA,
27. Alenka Zajić

Space-time Channel Modeling and Simulation, and Coding (2008)

Georgia Tech, School of ECE, Assistant Professor,
28. Sami Almalfouh Interference-Aware Resource Management Techniques for Cognitive Radio Networks (2012) Apple, Inc, San Jose, CA, RF Systems Performance Engineer,
29. Hyung-Seok Yu Performance of Cooperative Relaying Systems with Co-Channel Interference (2012) Samsung Electronics Mobile R&D office, Mobile Comm., Suwon City, Korea, Principal Engineer,
30. Seok-Chul (Sean) Kwon Geometrical Theory, Modeling and Applications of Channel Polarization (2013)
31. Sajid Saleem Frequency Domain Equalization for Multi-h Continuous Phase Modulation (2013)
32. Farhan Aziz Resilience of LTE Networks Against Smart Jamming Attacks Intel Corporation, Communication & Devices Group, San Diego, CA, Systems Engineer,
33. Varun Reddy Wireless Systems for Energy-Efficient Data Acquistion and Position Estimation in Dense Wide Area Networks Qualcomm, Inc.,


Postdoctoral Fellows


Jian Gu 

March 1993 - October 1994


Jai-Chul Song

September 1996 - August 1997

Induk Institute of Tech., Seoul, Korea

Young Mo Chung 

August 1998 - July 1999

Hansung University, Seoul, Korea

Ihn-Ho Lee

September 2010 - February 2011  

Yao-Jen Liang

August 2010 - July 2011 National Chiayi University, Taiwan


Visiting Scholars


Hiroshi Nogami

September 1991 - March 1993

Hitachi Ltd., Yokohama, Japan

Alexander Kocian March - August 2001 Center for PersonalKommunication, Aalborg University
Ping-Hung (Michael) Chiang July 2005 - June 2006 National Taiwan University, Taipei, Taiwan
Bariş Ozgul May 2006  - November 2006 Bogazici University, Istanbul, Turkey
Nauman Kiyani November 2007 - January 2008 Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands
Prof. Laibo Zheng September 2010 - September 2011 Shandong University, P.R. China
Yang Li April 2011 - October 2011 Shanghai Jiao Tong University, P. R. China
Cen Lin September 2011 - March 2012 Shanghai Jiao Tong University, P. R. China
Yi-Syun Yang February 2013 National Taiwan University, Taipei, Taiwan
Jiawei Wang August 2013 Xidian University, P. R. China
Wenbin Zhang April 2013 Harbin Institute of Technology, P. R. China
Prof. Wei Li August 2013 Henan University of Science and Technology, P. R. China
Alireza Bohrani September 2013 - December 2013 University of Agder, Norway
Prof. Yejun He October 2013 Shenzhen University, P. R. China
Prof. Li Wang December 2013 Beijing University of Posts & Telecom, P. R. China
Yaping Zhu September 2017 - September 2018 Southeast University, P. R. China
Hengguo Song October 2017 - October 2018 Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications, P. R. China
Guangkai Li November 2017 - November 2018 Beijing Jiaotong University, P. R. China
Yungfeng Liu October 2018 - October 2019 Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications, P. R. China
Yue Meng November 2018 - November 2019 Xi'an Jiaotong University, P.R. China
Yunqi Feng December 2019 - December 2020 Xi'an Jiaotong University, P.R. China


Home | About WSL | Director | Personnel | Research | Grants and Projects | Publications | Courses | Wireless on the Web | Help | Feedback | Direction

Home of WSL

More information or problems with this page? Please contact Gordon L. Stüber

This page has been accessed times since January 14, 2003.
This page was last modified on 2009-09-25 PM 01:41:37.
Copyright (C) 1999-2000  WSL, Georgia Tech. All Rights Reserved.